day 6 vegan: “wannabe” BPC cashew milk

8 Jan

Day 6 – Wannabe BPC Cashew Milk

Everywhere I turn, someone is on a new year’s cleanse. Three of my friends are starting Blue Print Cleanse on Monday. They don’t know each other so I know this is more than a coincidence. I’m excited that people are cleansing to kick-start their new year’s resolutions. There was a time when I’d say the word “cleanse” and I’d see that you’re talkin’ crazy expression on my friend’s face. Well, all this talk of BPC got me craving that damn Cashew Milk. And I mean DAMN. That stuff is good. I would look forward to having it all day since it’s the last drink of the day. I’ve done BPC three times and honestly, I love it. I would do it more often, if it were free. It was on Gilt Groupe this week, but of course everything sold out by the time I looked. I’m waiting for another special offer to show up in my inbox (hint, hint BPC). I did read yesterday that rumor is… BPC is now available at Whole Foods Tribeca. I’m swinging by Tuesday after Soul-Cycle to see for myself. If it’s there, I’m totally stocking up on green juice!!

Anywho, a few months ago, I bought The 3-Day Cleanse book (by Zoe Sakoutis and Erica Huss, the founders of Blue Print Cleanse) specifically for the Cashew Milk recipe. I think the recipe in the book is slightly different than what comes with a juice order. I don’t recall the last round I had having any extra virgin coconut oil in it?

I’ve altered the recipe slightly, so it tastes closer to what you get when you order BPC. It’s SOOOOO easy to make and totally delicious. I save my BPC bottles to reuse when I make extra cashew milk to take with me on the go, or to have at home. I drink it as a snack, breakfast, or sometimes just have a few sips after dinner as a dessert. It’s like duct tape, it fixes everything. The bottles have a fantastic seal so I sometimes use them to put fresh juice in for my hubbie to take to the office.

For those of you with new year’s resolutions to save money, here’s the recipe you can make at home. I recommend using a high-powered blender like Vitamix to ensure the nuts are really pulverized and create a smooth, milky, consistency/texture.

“Wannabe” BPC Cashew Milk

1/2 cup raw cashews, soaked 1 hour (in 1 cup filtered water)

2 cups fresh filtered water (don’t use the water you soaked the cashews in)

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 teaspoons agave

Drain the nuts. Combine all the ingredients and blend until completely smooth in a high-powered, premium blender. Store in the refrigerator for up to 5 days. Shake before drinking.

To make a chocolate version add 3 T raw cacao nibs, blend and enjoy!

smile my pretty Vitamix

Again, disregard the fact that the bottle in the pic is juice #5. On BPC, cashew milk is #6, but I re-used a bottle here.

Adapted from The 3-Day Cleanse by Zoe Sakoutis & Erica Huss

Vitamix model featured is the Super 5200

5 Responses to “day 6 vegan: “wannabe” BPC cashew milk”

  1. Erena DiGonis January 13, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    I love your recipes! Just found this one and am making it tomorrow! Have to get the cashews. Have you made the famous red bell pepper soup from blueprint? Could you share the recipe? Thank you!

  2. emily January 8, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    i just got a vitamix and i love this recipe! i’ve made it two or three times now – thanks for posting.

  3. carol January 9, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Chelsea – what a great blog and I LOVE all your vegan recipes. Yum yum yum. I’m about to get a juicer for my bday and Vitamix is top of my list 🙂

    • chelsea January 9, 2011 at 10:44 am #

      Thank you, thank you! Glad you are enjoying it. I’m having fun with it. It’s keeping me honest which was really my initial reason for starting the blog. I did a lot of research when I was shopping for a juicer, so definitely let me know if you have questions. Ultimately, I ended up getting a juicer AND a Vitamix because for me, they serve very different purposes. From what I’ve read, if you’re looking to “cleanse” a juicer is better because it removes the pulp. Without the pulp/fiber your digestive system isn’t taxed to process it and therefore you can have a faster/deeper detox. If I could afford it, I would have gotten the Norwalk Hydraulic Juice http://www.nwjcal.com/index.htm press but it’s around $2500k. HA! But if you’re looking for something more versatile I definitely recommend the Vitamix. I use it all the time for smoothies, vegan ice cream, soups, salad dressings, nut butters etc. xoxoxoxoxo – C

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spring Cleansing « Food Buff - March 14, 2011

    […] recipes at home, get Zoe & Erica’s book, The 3-Day Cleanse. I’ve made a couple recipes from it (including the infamous cashew milk) and really enjoyed them. The 3-Day Cleanse by Zoe […]

Leave a Reply

