three bean super bowl of chili

6 Feb

While most people are gearing up for Super Bowl Sunday, I’m 30,000 miles up on my way to VEGAS! Thank you Delta Gogo Inflight Internet! But I didn’t want to leave you hanging without sharing my favorite Super Bowl recipe.

When I worked on the first season of “Healthy Appetite with Ellie Krieger” on the Food Network, Ellie created this amazing chili that I really adore. It’s simple, budget-friendly, low-fat, full of veggies, and most importantly, TASTY! Click here for her recipe. I made a few adjustments, but if you’re omni, you could definitely use a lean organic beef or turkey as she recommends. And as always, please feel free to make this your own. Use whatever beans and veggies you have on hand, or try crumbled tempeh instead.

I sure wish I was eating a bowl of this instead of the $3 fruit plate and stale peanuts in front of me.

Oh and I almost forgot, I learned the darndest thing at Whole Foods last week. There were two piles of red bell peppers. One was clearly marked conventional, the other was not labeled. I asked an employee stocking zucchini if the unlabeled pile was organic. He came over and said, “let me show you something”.

He picked up the conventional red pepper and said “see this?” and pointed at the label. “Conventional has a 4-digit number.”

conventional red pepper

Then he went over and picked up a pepper from the unlabeled pile and said, “organic produce has a 5-digit code and it starts with a 9”. Check it out below…. he’s right. 5 digits, leading with the number 9.

organic pepper

Isn’t that crazy? Anyway, maybe I’m the only one who was in the dark about that, but I will remember this tip forever because I’m often uncertain about the labeling at Whole Foods. Not anymore!!!

Here’s the recipe, enjoy.

Three Bean Chili

2 Tablespoons olive oil

1 onion, diced (1 cup)

1 red bell pepper, diced (1 cup)

3 carrots, diced (1 cup)

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 (28-ounce) can crushed tomatoes

2 cups vegetable stock

1 bay leaf

1 garlic clove, minced or pressed through garlic press

1 chipotle chile in adobo sauce, seeded and minced

2 teaspoons adobo sauce from the can of chipotles

2 tablespoons tomato paste

1 (15.5-ounce) can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 (15.5-ounce) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1 (15.5-ounce) can pinto beans, drained and rinsed

Salt & fresh ground black pepper

1. Heat the oil in large pot or Dutch oven over moderate heat. Add the onion, cook until begins to turn translucent, 2-3 minutes.

2. Add bell pepper and carrots, cover and cook, stirring occasionally until the vegetables are soft, about 10 minutes.

carrots, onions, peppers

3. Add the cumin and garlic, stirring for 1 minute until fragrant. Stir in the tomatoes, tomato paste, vegetable stock, chipotle and adobo sauce, bay leaf, salt and pepper. Simmer, partially covered, stirring from time to time, for 30 minutes.

Be sure to scrape out the chipotle seeds, and mince the chipotle finely unless you want it really hot. I actually like the heat, but I think it’s a little too much for the average bear. You can always add hot sauce to your own bowl (or a little chipotle sauce) if you find it doesn’t have enough kick for you at the end.

chipotle seeds removed

4. Add the beans and cook partially covered for 15-20 minutes until soup is thickened and warmed through.

5. Serve with shredded mozzarella, cheddar or jalapeno cheese, sour cream, a dollop of guacamole, pita or tortilla chips, or a couple shakes of hot sauce (if you need it). I used Daiya dairy-free cheddar in mine and it rocked.

I added in some Daiya dairy-free cheddar cheese - it melts beautifully

 

2 Responses to “three bean super bowl of chili”

  1. Francesca February 6, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Chile is one of my favorite foods to eat. This looks and sounds right up my alley. I am driven to make it for me and L.

    • chelsea February 8, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

      Thanks @Francesca! I hope you like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

