Highlights from 1st Annual NYC Vegetarian Food Festival

7 Apr

Sunday, April 3rd, was the first NYC Vegetarian Food Festival. What a zoo!!!  Turnout was good with herds of people crammed into a small space at the Altman building. I was psyched I bought VIP tickets in advance through Living Social because the line for general admission was half-way down the block. I heard some people didn’t even get in? And that next year it will be at Javitz? One can only hope because we could have used the space!

I was thrilled to meet so many like-minded people, brought together by a love of food, and interest in healthy/sustainable lifestyles. Although I was disappointed that most vendors focused heavily on desserts, cookies, and numerous vegan mac & cheeses, I was very happy to see some brands that I love, and to find unique/innovative products that I hadn’t tried before. And there were samples galore! I do hope next year there are more vendors that focus on clean foods like vegetables, beans, nuts, and fruits.

Here are a few highlights. I’ll have some further product reviews in the weeks to come. Stay tuned!

Peeled Snacks

One of my favorite snacks, just came out with new variety packs like Pineapple, Mango & Banana. My three favorites together in one bag? Hip, hip, hooray!

New Varieties of Peeled Snacks

Peeled Snacks Team

Gnosis Chocolate

A vegan chocolate that’s 100% handmade. I’ve seen it at Whole Foods and never tried it until the Festival. I was skeptical at first, but that Super Choc was so delicious I bought a few bars to test out! I’ll have a full review in the weeks to come.

Super Choc

Beyond Sushi

All vegetarian, organic sushi rolls use black rice with fresh veggies, fruits and tofu based sauces like chilli & mango and tofu & miso. I was sad I didn’t get to try it. They were completely out of samples when I was there but conceptually sounded really interesting. I mean, come on!!! Look at how gorgeous these are; almost too pretty to eat.  They’d be great for pregnant moms who can’t have shellfish, or those with shellfish allergies or of course, vegetarians/vegans!

Beyond Sushi

Splitz Snacks

Organic, healthy snacks made primarily from yellow split peas, this delicious snack has 140 calories, 6 grams fat and a whopping 9 grams of protein in a 2 oz bag!

Splitz snacks

Splitz Table

Raw Ice Cream Company

I’ve tried quite a few raw, vegan ice creams and this one was exceptional. It had a very creamy, smooth consistency. And I love their tagline, “Gorge yourself responsibly!” Why thank you, I will!

Although the samples don’t look that appetizing here, the mint chip was fabulous! They have very limited distribution at the moment, but I’m sure it’s only a matter of time before this spreads like wildfire. Their website is the cutest ever, and has a store locator if you’re looking to purchase.

Raw Ice Cream Table

Raw Ice Cream Samples

SHEFFA snacks

Loved these little snacks from Sheffa. It would be a great beer snack; kind of like a healthy version of party mix. I guess that’s kind of redundant right? A healthy snack to go with a beer is like having a diet coke with a big mac. Still, they were tasty. I liked the Spicy snack mix made with ground chickpeas, roasted corn, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, sunflower oil, spices and sea salt.

Sheffa Snacks

Wholesome Creations

Although I usually make my own salad dressing, I did enjoy these all natural, gluten-free, vegan, dressings by Wholesome Creations. No additives, no preservatives, no added colors or chemicals. Flavors include: Lemon Paradise, Pomegranate Cranberry, Ginger/Green Tea, Mediterranean.

Wholesome Creations Mediterranean Flavor

How cute are they?

Wholesome Creations Team

6 Responses to “Highlights from 1st Annual NYC Vegetarian Food Festival”

  1. lana @ make a house a home April 14, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    sarah (lilly’s mommy) told me about your site – and i absolutely love it! i read the whole thing in one shot! just wanted to say i love what you are doing and you have a new fan!

    • Chelsea April 14, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

      Thank you so much! I love blogging and it’s always nice to hear that others enjoy reading it. You can also “Like” us on Facebook too!! 🙂 Thanks for your support!

  2. veggiegrettie April 7, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    I love going to these festivals / trade shows. I would have loved the vegan ice cream!

    • Chelsea April 14, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

      Me too! The only problem I have is choosing which one to attend!

  3. Bebe T. April 7, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    I am a sushi LOVER, and the Beyond Sushi looks amazing! Where can I find some? Only at restaurants or do the sell them in packages? I was out of town, but I cannot wait to attend the Festival next year!!!

    • Chelsea April 7, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

      They are not in stores yet but you can check out their website. http://espritevents.com/ They’re a catering company that is expanding… you can also call 212-207-3220 to inquire about wholesale pricing or if you’re looking for a sushi station with a Chef for parties events, call 212-207-3888. Please mention that you heard about them from TheFoodBuff.com!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

