Dinner at Blossom Restaurant

14 Apr

Hello friends!

I had a delicioso dinner at Blossom last week with vegetarian pal Blake Brody, and just had to share some pics. I finally sucked it up and brought the “real” camera. I usually rely on my iPhone, but the camera SUCKS in low lighting. (Apple, please hurry. I need the iPhone 5 like… yesterday). I hate bringing the big camera because the enormous flash illuminates the entire room, not exactly inconspicuous.

Blossom is a vegan restaurant in Chelsea that focuses on local, organic ingredients. “Voted Best Vegetarian Restaurant 2008 & 2009” by Time Out magazine. They also have sister restaurants Cafe Blossom, Blossom Du Jour and Cocoa V.

We started with a lovely bottle of Don David malbec, perfect for a frigid rainy/haily night. Then we dove in…

We tried numerous appies because well… we’re pigs and wanted to sample a ton of dishes. The capelleti was hands-down my favorite, followed by the empanadas, and the seitan. Seitan and I have come a long way. I used to think it was disgusting; I’m slowly coming around. The sweet potato rolls were probably my least favorite. They just tasted like a rolled up salad and it happened to be freaking hailing so I wasn’t really in the mood for anything cold.

Parsnip Cappelletti ~ $10

Fresh hand-rolled ravioli stuffed with savory whipped parsnip and crushed potatoes, finished with shiitake and truffle oil. I LOVE this dish so much that we had a second round. My husband got this the first time we ate at Blossom and loved it…he’s not vegan.

Parsnip Cappelletti

Sweet Potato Rolls (raw) ~ $12

Stuffed with shredded coconut, jicama, carrot, red and yellow peppers, scallions, and avocado, with an almond ginger dipping sauce.

Sweet Potato Rolls

Porcini Flutes ~ $11

Hand-rolled phyllo filled with porcini mushrooms, almonds, and ground tempeh, served over a cashew pesto, finished with pomegranate seeds.

Porcini Flutes

Seitan Empanadas ~ $11

Served with saffron aioli and a salad of avocado and hearts of palm. They call it salad, I call it guacamole. Yup we had two rounds of this one too.

Seitan Empanadas

Whipped Sweet Potatoes ~ $6

These were unbelievably smooth. I actually could have used a little texture in them, but they were very sweet with spicy hints of cinnamon and nutmeg. I would have loved to smear it on some hot, crusty bread. (Ew – two words I’ve always vowed not to use together).

Whipped Sweet Potatoes

Port Wine Seitan ~ $22

Seitan cutlets pan-seared in a sauce of port wine and mushrooms, accompanied by creamy mashed potatoes, tempura onion, and sautéed garlic spinach. The potatoes tricked me. Their texture didn’t look smooth, but were surprisingly buttery and perfectly seasoned. It was definitely reminiscent of mashed potatoes, but with a lighter, seemingly healthier, texture.

Port Wine Seitan

Phyllo Roulade ~$18

French lentils and root vegetables baked in a phyllo crust, served over a carrot-cream sauce. Caramelized onions and swiss chard accompaniment.

Phyllo Roulade

For dessert, we opted for a glass of cava and I was so freaking stuffed I forgot to take a pic. Sorry!!

Have you tried seitan? What do you think – is seitan too processed or is it “healthy”? Do you make your own seitan? Have a favorite recipe? Please share!!!

One Response to “Dinner at Blossom Restaurant”

  1. veg-unite April 18, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Oh man I wish we went here while we were in NYC last week!! Oh well… Next time! This looks absolutely amazing.

Leave a Reply

