Acai Raspberry Smoothie Recipe

6 Jul

First things first. It’s pronounced, ah-sigh-ee. Now that that’s out of the way… acai is said to be full of antioxidants and considered a “superfood”. It’s tart, so I usually like it best combined with other sweeter fruits like banana, to soften the blow.

It has been painfully hot here in NYC. The good news is that heat completely suppresses my appetite. All I want is salad, watermelon, and anything else light and cold. So of course, that means one thing… smoothies!!

After my Bar Method workout this morning, I came home and made this refreshing, fruit filled smoothie. The tartness of the acai and raspberries are balanced with the creamy bananas, almond milk, and sweetness of the agave. Plus, there’s added protein and good fat from the flaxseed oil.

Well, I’m off to LA, and looking forward to my fill of west coast smoothies!

Click here to learn more about acai.

Acai Raspberry Smoothie

3/4 – 1 cup almond milk (or other non-dairy bev)

1 frozen banana (equivalent to about 1 cup)

1/2 cup fresh raspberries

1 packet frozen acai

1 tablespoon flaxseed oil

1/2 tablespoon agave

1. Blend all together and enjoy!

Please keep in mind I’m not a registered dietician or medical professional, I’m a cook. So if you have any health concerns or dietary questions, please consult your doctor or nutritionist.

Fresh RaspberriesAcai Raspberry Smoothie

Acai Raspberry Smoothie

Leave a comment